Sonic Onion Rings: Calories, Price, Sizes & Allergens (2026)
Quick answer: a Medium order of Sonic Onion Rings has 580 calories, 29 g of fat, 74 g of carbs and 570 mg of sodium, per Sonic's Fall 2026 nutrition guide. Small is 440 calories and Large is 800. Sonic lists no prices; a Medium typically costs about $3.99.
Sonic marks them as containing milk, wheat and gluten. They are not gluten-free, and Sonic certifies no item as vegan or vegetarian.

Product photo from Sonic
- Small
- 440 cal
- Medium
- 580 cal
- Large
- 800 cal
Calories by size
Prices are typical pickup prices from a sample of 425 restaurant listings on Drive Thru Index, not Sonic prices (Small about $3.29, Large about $4.69). Your drive-in sets its own.
Prices checked November 5, 2026. Nutrition from Sonic's published guides.
Sonic Onion Rings Sizes, Calories & Price
Nutrition: Sonic's Fall 2026 guide. Prices: typical pickup prices (checked November 5, 2026) from a sample of 425 restaurants, not Sonic prices.
Small
440
calories
21 g fat · 55 g carbs
430 mg sodium
about $3.29
Medium
580
calories
29 g fat · 74 g carbs
570 mg sodium
about $3.99
Large
800
calories
39 g fat · 101 g carbs
790 mg sodium
about $4.69
| Size | Calories | Fat | Carbs | Sugar | Protein | Sodium | Typical price | Price range | Cents / 100 cal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small | 440 | 21 g | 55 g | 14 g | 6 g | 430 mg | $3.29 | $2.59 to $5.49 | 74.8 |
| Medium | 580 | 29 g | 74 g | 19 g | 8 g | 570 mg | $3.99 | $3.29 to $6.49 | 68.8 |
| LargeLowest $ per calorie | 800 | 39 g | 101 g | 26 g | 11 g | 790 mg | $4.69 | $3.89 to $7.39 | 58.6 |
How to read the prices. Each figure is the median price across about 424 restaurant listings sampled in 38 states (weighted by how many Sonic restaurants each state has), read from Drive Thru Index. The range is the lowest and highest price in that sample. Your drive-in sets its own price.
Sonic does not publish a ring count or a weight for these sizes, so we show no per-ring or per-ounce figures. "Cents per 100 calories" only compares sizes on price; it is not a recommendation to eat more.
Sonic Onion Rings Nutrition Facts by Size
Every value Sonic publishes for onion rings, by size.
Nutrition Facts
Sonic Onion Rings, Medium
Amount per serving
% Daily Value*
Vitamin D, calcium, iron and potassium are not published by Sonic for onion rings. *Percent Daily Values use a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA values). Source: Sonic National Fall 2026 nutrition guide.
Sodium and sugar in context (Medium)
570 mg
sodium (25% of 2,300 mg)
19 g
total sugars
4.8
teaspoons of sugar (4 g each)
The American Heart Association recommends no more than 2,300 mg of sodium a day, with an ideal goal of 1,500 mg for most adults, and no more than 36 g (men) or 25 g (women) of added sugar. Sonic lists total sugars, not added sugars, and onions contain some natural sugar, so the sugar bars are a comparison and not an exact added-sugar count. Sauces add more of both.
What the numbers say
- Carbohydrate is the biggest part: 74 g, of which 19 g is sugar and 4 g is fiber. Fat is 29 g (5 g saturated, 0 g trans) from the frying oil and coating, and protein is 8 g.
- Cholesterol is 0 mg. The rings contain buttermilk and whey in the coating, but Sonic lists no cholesterol for them.
- Sodium is 25% of the FDA daily value before any dipping sauce. Some sauces add a lot more, so check the dip calculator below.
Comparing other items? the full Sonic nutrition and calorie guide.
What's in Sonic Onion Rings? Ingredients, Allergens, Vegan & Gluten-Free
Sonic marks milk, wheat and gluten. Fried foods share fryers.
Ingredients (Sonic's statement)
Main ingredients: Onions, Bleached Wheat Flour, Water, Yellow Corn Flour, Sugar.
Contains 2% or less of: Artificial Flavor, Brown Sugar (Brown Sugar, Caramel Color), Buttermilk (Sweet Cream, Whey Cream), Dextrose, Guar Gum, Gum Arabic, Leavening (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Natural Flavor, Rice Flour, Salt, Whey, Yeast.
Not stated by Sonic: the onion variety, whether the rings are shaped or cut whole, and the frying oil for this item.
Allergens in Sonic's November 2026 guide
- MilkContains
- EggNot marked
- SoyNot marked
- Tree NutsNot marked
- PeanutsNot marked
- FishNot marked
- ShellfishNot marked
- WheatContains
- GlutenContains
- SesameNot marked
Read from the Onion Rings row of Sonic's November 2026 Allergen Guide. Sonic marks milk, wheat, gluten as contained. It does not mark egg, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame. "Not marked" means only that the guide does not list it.
Shared fryers. Sonic's guide says it does not use separate fryers, so allergens can cross-contact between fried foods. With a serious allergy, tell the crew before you order.
Are Sonic onion rings vegan?
No. The ingredient statement includes buttermilk and whey, and Sonic marks milk. Sonic's November 2026 Allergen Guide also says no items are certified vegan or vegetarian.
Are they gluten-free?
No. Wheat flour is a main ingredient and Sonic marks wheat and gluten. The same guide says no items are certified gluten-free.
Check the rest of the menu
Compare any items against the allergens you avoid with our Sonic allergen tool.
How Much Are Sonic Onion Rings in Your State?
Typical pickup prices from a sample of Sonic restaurant listings on Drive Thru Index, not Sonic prices; each drive-in sets its own. Checked November 5, 2026.
Typical US price
$3.29
Range $2.59 to $5.49 across 424 sampled restaurants
Lowest state
$2.79
Indiana
Highest state
$4.29
Michigan
| State | Typical | Range | Sampled | vs. US typical |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $2.99 | $2.99 to $3.69 | 12 | -$0.30 |
| Arizona | $3.39 | $3.39 to $3.79 | 12 | +$0.10 |
| Arkansas | $3.19 | $2.79 to $3.79 | 12 | -$0.10 |
| California | $4.19 | $3.69 to $4.59 | 12 | +$0.90 |
| Colorado | $3.49 | $3.09 to $3.69 | 12 | +$0.20 |
| Connecticut | $3.99 | $3.99 to $5.49 | 7 | +$0.70 |
| Florida | $3.39 | $3.29 to $3.79 | 12 | +$0.10 |
| Georgia | $3.19 | $2.99 to $3.59 | 12 | -$0.10 |
| Idaho | $3.29 | $2.99 to $3.99 | 12 | same |
| Illinois | $3.69 | $3.09 to $3.99 | 12 | +$0.40 |
| Indiana | $2.79 | $2.59 to $4.09 | 12 | -$0.50 |
| Iowa | $3.49 | $3.29 to $4.99 | 10 | +$0.20 |
| Kansas | $3.39 | $2.99 to $3.99 | 12 | +$0.10 |
| Kentucky | $3.29 | $3.09 to $3.49 | 12 | same |
| Louisiana | $3.29 | $2.99 to $3.49 | 12 | same |
| Maryland | $3.89 | $3.29 to $4.19 | 11 | +$0.60 |
| Michigan | $4.29 | $3.49 to $4.29 | 12 | +$1.00 |
| Minnesota | $3.79 | $3.79 to $3.79 | 5 | +$0.50 |
| Mississippi | $2.99 | $2.69 to $3.39 | 12 | -$0.30 |
| Missouri | $3.49 | $2.99 to $4.19 | 12 | +$0.20 |
| Nebraska | $3.49 | $3.19 to $5.29 | 12 | +$0.20 |
| Nevada | $2.89 | $2.79 to $3.29 | 8 | -$0.40 |
| New Jersey | $3.69 | $3.39 to $4.29 | 12 | +$0.40 |
| New Mexico | $3.19 | $3.19 to $3.39 | 12 | -$0.10 |
| New York | $4.09 | $3.19 to $4.59 | 12 | +$0.80 |
| North Carolina | $3.19 | $2.89 to $4.39 | 11 | -$0.10 |
| Ohio | $3.19 | $2.99 to $3.39 | 12 | -$0.10 |
| Oklahoma | $3.19 | $2.89 to $3.29 | 12 | -$0.10 |
| Oregon | $3.79 | $3.40 to $3.80 | 12 | +$0.50 |
| Pennsylvania | $3.69 | $3.29 to $3.79 | 12 | +$0.40 |
| South Carolina | $3.19 | $2.99 to $3.29 | 12 | -$0.10 |
| Tennessee | $2.99 | $2.99 to $3.29 | 12 | -$0.30 |
| Texas | $3.19 | $2.99 to $3.49 | 12 | -$0.10 |
| Utah | $2.99 | $2.99 to $3.29 | 12 | -$0.30 |
| Virginia | $3.19 | $3.09 to $4.39 | 12 | -$0.10 |
| Washington | $3.99 | $3.79 to $3.99 | 12 | +$0.70 |
| West Virginia | $2.99 | $2.99 to $3.69 | 7 | -$0.30 |
| Wyoming | $3.39 | $2.99 to $3.49 | 5 | +$0.10 |
Only states where at least 3 sampled restaurants listed this size are shown (38). Each state figure is the median of the sampled restaurants (up to 12 per state), so it is an estimate, not a full count. States with few restaurants can swing on one price change.
Source: Drive Thru Index Sonic brand page . Delivery apps and some drive-ins charge more than these pickup prices.
Onion Rings + Dipping Sauce Calorie Calculator
Pick a size and add up to 4 dipping sauces. The totals add Sonic's published sauce rows to the onion rings row. Sonic does not say how many cups come with an order or what extra cups cost, so treat the cup count as your own plan.
Your order: Medium Onion Rings
- Medium Onion Rings580 cal
580
Calories
29 g
Fat
74 g
Carbs
19 g
Sugar
8 g
Protein
570 mg
Sodium
Add a sauce to see how much it changes the total. Allergens Sonic marks for this combination: Gluten, Milk, Wheat. Fried foods may share fryers, so this is not a complete allergy check.
Sonic Dipping Sauces for Onion Rings: Calories & Sodium
Sonic's Fall 2026 guide lists 16 condiments and dipping sauces. It does not say which come with onion rings or how many cups an order includes. Sorted by calories.
| Sauce | Calories | Fat | Carbs | Sugar | Sodium | Sonic marks as containing | + Medium rings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mustard | 5 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | 95 mg | none marked | 585 cal |
| Ketchup | 10 | 0 g | 3 g | 2 g | 85 mg | none marked | 590 cal |
| Sweet Relish | 10 | 0 g | 3 g | 2 g | 55 mg | none marked | 590 cal |
| Marinara | 15 | 0 g | 4 g | 2 g | 135 mg | none marked | 595 cal |
| Smasher Sauce | 35 | 3.5 g | 1 g | 1 g | 70 mg | Egg | 615 cal |
| Light Mayo | 40 | 3 g | 3 g | 2 g | 105 mg | Egg, Soy | 620 cal |
| BBQ | 50 | 0 g | 11 g | 10 g | 300 mg | none marked | 630 cal |
| Garlic Parmesan Ranch | 50 | 5 g | 1 g | 0 g | 105 mg | Milk, Egg | 630 cal |
| Asian-Style Sweet Chili | 60 | 0 g | 13 g | 11 g | 370 mg | Soy, Wheat, Gluten, Sesame | 640 cal |
| Buffalo | 60 | 6 g | 1 g | 0 g | 720 mg | Milk, Soy | 640 cal |
| Honey Mustard | 90 | 8 g | 6 g | 4 g | 170 mg | Egg, Soy | 670 cal |
| Syrup | 90 | 0 g | 22 g | 15 g | 0 mg | none marked | 670 cal |
| Groovy Sauce | 110 | 11 g | 2 g | 2 g | 200 mg | Egg | 690 cal |
| Ranch | 110 | 11 g | 1 g | 1 g | 230 mg | Milk, Egg, Soy | 690 cal |
| Jalapeño Ranch | 130 | 13 g | 2 g | 1 g | 170 mg | Milk, Egg | 710 cal |
| Signature Cheese | 130 | 11 g | 6 g | 3 g | 720 mg | Milk, Soy | 710 cal |
Lightest dip
Mustard is 5 calories and Ketchup is 10. A Medium with Ketchup comes to 590 calories.
Most calories
Jalapeño Ranch and Signature Cheese tie at 130 calories. Ranch is 110, which puts a Medium with Ranch at 690 calories.
Watch the sodium
The saltiest sauces are Buffalo (720 mg), Signature Cheese (720 mg), Asian-Style Sweet Chili (370 mg). The rings alone already carry 570 mg at Medium.
Values are per sauce cup as listed in Sonic's Fall 2026 nutrition guide. Cup size is not stated in the data we use, so we do not convert to tablespoons. Allergen marks come from Sonic's Allergen Guide and refer to the sauce itself, not to the rings.
Sonic Onion Rings vs Every Other Snack & Side
All 11 items in Sonic's Snacks & Sides category. Choose a size to compare like with like.
| Item | Calories | Fat | Carbs | Sugar | Protein | Sodium | Typical price | Marked allergens |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tots | 360 | 19 g | 43 g | 0 g | 3 g | 890 mg | about $3.09 | none marked |
| Groovy Fries | 370 | 22 g | 39 g | 0 g | 3 g | 790 mg | about $3.09 | Wheat, Gluten |
| Cheese Tots | 450 | 28 g | 43 g | 1 g | 8 g | 1390 mg | about $3.89 | see components |
| Cheese Groovy Fries | 460 | 30 g | 40 g | 1 g | 8 g | 1280 mg | about $3.89 | see components |
| Ched 'r' Peppers(6 pc) | 490 | 25 g | 54 g | 2 g | 12 g | 1660 mg | about $5.59 | Milk, Soy, Wheat, Gluten |
| Chili Cheese Groovy Fries | 540 | 35 g | 44 g | 1 g | 12 g | 1430 mg | about $4.79 | see components |
| Chili Cheese Tots | 540 | 33 g | 48 g | 2 g | 13 g | 1580 mg | about $4.79 | see components |
| Mozzarella Sticks(6 pc) | 560 | 28 g | 54 g | 3 g | 22 g | 1190 mg | about $5.39 | Milk, Wheat, Gluten |
| Onion RingsThis page | 580 | 29 g | 74 g | 19 g | 8 g | 570 mg | about $3.99 | Milk, Wheat, Gluten |
Calories, sodium and the other nutrients are from Sonic's Fall 2026 nutrition guide. Prices are medians from the sampled restaurant listings (not Sonic prices) and are shown only where enough listings named that exact item and size. Where the allergen guide lists only components, we show "see components". Piece counts, where shown, come from restaurant listing names, not from Sonic.
Sonic Onion Rings FAQs (2026)
Calories, allergens, vegan and gluten-free status, price, ingredients and sauces.
How many calories are in Sonic onion rings?
Small 440, Medium 580, Large 800 calories (Small, Medium, Large), per Sonic's Fall 2026 nutrition guide. The Medium has 580 calories, 29 g of fat, 74 g of carbohydrate, 8 g of protein and 570 mg of sodium. Dipping sauce is extra: a Medium with Ranch comes to 690 calories.
Are Sonic onion rings vegan?
No. Sonic marks milk, and the ingredient statement lists buttermilk and whey. Sonic's November 2026 Allergen Guide also says no items are certified vegetarian or vegan.
Are Sonic onion rings gluten-free?
No. Sonic marks wheat and gluten, and bleached wheat flour is the second ingredient. The November 2026 Allergen Guide says no items are certified gluten-free.
What allergens are in Sonic onion rings?
Sonic's November 2026 Allergen Guide marks milk, wheat and gluten, and flags the item as fried. It does not mark egg, soy, peanut, tree nuts, fish, shellfish or sesame. The guide also says Sonic does not use separate fryers, so allergens can cross-contact between fried foods. Tell the crew about any allergy; this page is not medical advice.
How much do Sonic onion rings cost?
Sonic lists no prices and each drive-in sets its own. Typical US pickup prices, from a sample of 425 Sonic restaurants in 38 states on Drive Thru Index (checked November 5, 2026): Small $3.29, Medium $3.99, Large $4.69. The Medium ranged from $3.29 to $6.49. Delivery apps usually cost more.
What are Sonic onion rings made of?
Sonic's Ingredient Statement Guide lists onions, bleached wheat flour, water, yellow corn flour and sugar, plus 2% or less of artificial flavor, brown sugar (with caramel color), buttermilk, dextrose, guar gum, gum arabic, leavening, natural flavor, rice flour, salt, whey and yeast. It does not name the onion type, say how the rings are formed, or name the frying oil.
How much sodium is in Sonic onion rings?
Small 430 mg, Medium 570 mg, Large 790 mg. The American Heart Association recommends most adults stay under 2,300 mg a day (ideal: 1,500 mg), so a Medium is about 25% of the limit before sauce. Among the 9 Medium Snacks & Sides, onion rings are the lowest in sodium.
How much sugar is in Sonic onion rings?
Small 14 g, Medium 19 g, Large 26 g. A Medium's 19 g is about 4.8 teaspoons (4 g per teaspoon). Sonic lists total sugars, not added sugars, so this is a comparison, not an added-sugar count. The American Heart Association suggests no more than 36 g of added sugar a day for most men and 25 g for most women.
How many onion rings come in a Sonic order?
Sonic does not publish a ring count or weight for any size, so we state no calories per ring.
What is the lowest-calorie dipping sauce at Sonic?
In Sonic's Fall 2026 guide, Mustard is lowest at 5 calories and Jalapeño Ranch and Signature Cheese are tied for the highest at 130. A Medium with Ketchup is 590 calories; with Ranch, 690. Common picks: Ranch 110, Ketchup 10, BBQ 50, Honey Mustard 90, Jalapeño Ranch 130, Signature Cheese 130.
Does a dipping sauce cost extra at Sonic?
Sonic's guides do not say, and we did not measure sauce prices. Ask when you order.
Are onion rings or tots better at Sonic?
Medium onion rings: 580 calories, 570 mg sodium, 19 g sugar. Medium Tots: 360 calories, 890 mg, 0 g. Medium Groovy Fries: 370 calories, 790 mg, 0 g. Rings are higher in calories, fat and sugar and lower in sodium than tots.
Are Sonic onion rings made fresh or frozen?
Sonic does not say. We could not verify it, so we make no claim.
Where These Onion Rings Numbers Come From
We are an independent guide, not Sonic.
Sources
- Nutrition (all three sizes and every sauce): Sonic's National Fall 2026 nutrition guide, from sonicdrivein.com/nutrition . The onion rings rows were checked against Sonic's November 2026 brochure .
- Allergens: the Onion Rings and sauce rows of Sonic's November 2026 Allergen Guide .
- Ingredients: the Onion Rings entry in Sonic's Ingredient Statement Guide .
- Prices: typical US pickup prices read from a sample of Sonic restaurant listings on Drive Thru Index , checked November 5, 2026. Sonic does not publish prices.
- Sodium and sugar guidance: American Heart Association, sodium and added sugars .
How we measured prices
Drive Thru Index has no page for onion rings alone, so we read the onion ring prices from 425 Sonic restaurant listings across 38 states, up to 12 per state, picked by a fixed random seed. The US figure is the median, weighted by how many Sonic restaurants each state has. A state figure is the median of the restaurants sampled there, and a state is shown only if at least 3 sampled restaurants listed that size. Treat every figure as "about": prices differ by drive-in, change often and are higher on delivery apps.
The picture
The product photo is a promotional image from Sonic and is not to scale. The social-share image is an original drawing.
What we could not verify
- How many rings, or how many ounces, come in each size: Sonic does not publish it, so there is no per-ring calorie figure here.
- Fresh or frozen: Sonic does not say whether the rings are made in-store or arrive frozen, or how the onion is cut.
- Frying oil for this item: not named in the ingredient statement we used.
- Added sugars, vitamins and minerals: Sonic's guide lists total sugars only.
- Sauce prices and how many cups come with an order: we found no reliable source, so we do not state them.
- Live prices: your drive-in's exact price. The numbers here are sample medians.
Last reviewed November 5, 2026
Spotted a mistake? [email protected]
Not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Sonic Drive-In, Inspire Brands or Drive Thru Index. SONIC and Onion Rings are used only to name the menu items.
Plan the Rest of Your Sonic Order
Prices displayed on Sonic Menu are independent estimates based on typical US drive-in retail benchmarks, not live prices from any single restaurant. Exact menu prices, combo meal promotions, and product availability vary by independent franchise location, drive-in stall vs. drive-thru, and delivery service app markups (DoorDash, Uber Eats, Grubhub).